A Moroccan Dinner

Last week, pb surprised me by taking me to have Mediterranean cuisine! SoL Sun Belt Cookery promises “an authentic culinary voyage around the Mediterranean, with a Moroccan twist“.  I was intrigued by the menu items as I’ve never tried Mediterranean fine dining before.

20131201-141843.jpg

To start, we had the Pan Seared Scallops & Prawns. This dish was very fresh, and full of robust flavour! I especially loved the pairing with crispy pork belly slices. I only wish the portion had been a bit bigger, as we devoured this in a jiffy!

20131128-215542.jpg
Pan Seared Scallops & Prawns

For our mains, I had the Brome Lake Duck Duo.  The pan seared duck breast was a little too rare for my liking, but the leg was cooked to perfection! The accompanying risotto cake had a quirky flair to it – something I enjoyed because of its unique taste. What I really liked about this dish was the side of fennel & orange slices – they were a perfect complement to the duck meat!

20131128-215600.jpg
Brome Lake Duck Duo

pb had the Moroccan Confit of Strip Loin Beef Tagine. This dish was served with a side of flat bread. I tried several bites of the stew-like mixture, and loved it! The beef, tomatoes, and eggs were cooked in a gravy that was rich in spices and full-bodied in taste. The flat bread was fluffy, yet maintained a touch of crispness – delicious!

20131128-215553.jpg
Moroccan Confit of Strip Loin Beef Tagine

To wrap up, we had Moroccan Beignets for dessert. These were absolutely amazing!! Warm beignets fresh out of the oven, with house-made chocolate drizzled over top, and sprinkled with roasted almonds & frosted sugar.. Mmm! It was the perfect combination of savoury & sweet!

20131128-215610.jpg
Moroccan Beignets

I’ll definitely be back again to try out more interesting Moroccan delights from their menu the next time!

20131201-141849.jpg

Sol Sun Belt Cookery on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “A Moroccan Dinner

  1. The beef tagine looks so good! added with the soft lighting and presentation, it certainly feels very welcoming. I’ll have to pay a visit when I’m in the Robson area 🙂

Leave a Reply

