[App Review] Instagram for Windows Phone

Earlier this morning, Instagram announced some exciting news on their blog: Windows Phone users can now download & enjoy using Instagram!

Download: Windows Phone Store

wtbWP01
Photo taken with my iPhone 5S

As a long-time Instagram fan & multi-platform app lover, I’ve been using Instagram extensively on the iOS platform since the app’s early days. When Instagram launched their Android app March of last year, I was eager to get a feel of my favourite photo app on that platform – so I bought an Android phone to experience Instagram on Android! It was fun to see the differences within the app across the 2 platforms, and even more interesting to see the Android app grow to catch up with the main feature offerings of the iOS app!

Now, Instagram has reached yet another milestone – an app for Windows Phone!

Lucky for me, I had a few Windows Phone devices at my disposal at work today. My dad also owns a Nokia Lumia 920, so I was able to tinker around with the new app for a few minutes at work, and play around with it a bit more at home after work!

Here are my very first 2 Windows Phone Instagram photos, taken with the Nokia Lumia 920:

wtbWP02 wtbWP03
Filter: X-Pro II (for both)

The app renders beautifully on the Lumia 920‘s lovely 4.5″ TrueColor display:

wtbWP04
Photo taken with my iPhone 5S

So far, the only feature that is missing from the Windows Phone app (which is currently still in ‘BETA’ phase) is Video recording / uploading. Windows Phone users areΒ still able to watch videos posted by others.

To find out more & see the app in action, check out this 5-minute walkthrough review of the app – my very first whythisbox app review video!

Do drop me a note, as I would love to hear your thoughts & comments – about the app, this review, or even just general feedback!

And to my friends & readers using Windows Phone – go check out the new Instagram app!

Oh, and don’t forget to follow me on Instagram (especially if you’re a foodie!)

Happy Instagramming! πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “[App Review] Instagram for Windows Phone

  1. Not only is it awesome, that more apps are becoming available but I do like the design too, on the windows phone. There’s something about the design that makes phone look bigger than the usual Lumias πŸ™‚

    • Yes, more & more mainstream apps are gradually making their way into the Windows Phone Store these days! Seeing as how you love photography Andy, u’re probably considering the Nokia Lumia 1020, right? Might be a bit of an overkill though, its 41MP camera.. lol πŸ˜›

  2. Great review! Good to hear instagram is now available on even more phones now. Maybe now I’ll consider some Windows phones haha. But I must say, I actually like the loading of the camera roll first feature! It’s more convenient, at least for me! I usually take my pics first before uploading on instagram!

    • Thanks Claudia! Glad you enjoyed the review! πŸ™‚
      Yes, I guess that feature might appeal to those who like to snap pics with the phone’s native camera before uploading them to Instagram!

Leave a Reply

