A Hobby Rampage!

Time surely flies when you’re having fun! I haven’t updated this blog in quite awhile, as I’ve been busy exploring a rather diverse range of after-work activities & hobbies in the past little bit! I guess you could say I was on a hobby rampage, haha! 😛

Postcarding

In the past 3 months or so, a large amount of my time was dedicated to my postcarding hobby. This ongoing effort is meticulously being documented in my postcarding blog! In the short span of time since I had started, I was able to amass almost 500 postcards from 50 different countries – via my lovely traveling friends, official Postcrossing, and direct swaps! Along the way, I also formed some wonderful international friendships with amazing people from all over the globe! 😀

Some of the rarer countries I’ve managed to obtain postcards from thus far are.. Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Belarus, Brunei, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Guernsey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Macedonia, Morocco, Slovenia, South Africa, Turkey, and Ukraine! I had never even heard of some of these places before I started postcarding! Thanks to this hobby, I have learnt so much about so many different countries & cultures! 🙂

Bikram Yoga

all_postures

(Image from: Bikram Yoga Commercial Drive)

In early Aug, I decided to go back to a regular practice at my Bikram Yoga studio. I’ve actually got an annual unlimited yoga membership at Bikram Yoga Vancouver (BYV), but after 2 hardcore months in Jan & Feb this year, I kinda slacked off in the following 5 months, only going once or twice a month. 😳 At the end of July, I looked at my attendance, and told myself – buck up! I pushed myself to go to Bikram class after work & after weekend activities – no matter how tired I was or how inconvenient it was. I’m happy to say that I feel more energized now that I’m back to a regular Bikram practice!! 😀

Art & Crafts

I’ve always been into artsy & crafty things, so I wanted to dedicate more time to doing what I liked. In early Aug, I decided to start keeping a sketch journal. Here are the first couple of entries from my sketch journal!

aeggieSJ01 aeggieSJ02 aeggieSJ03 aeggieSJ04

Because of all the positive feedback from my Instagram friends & followers, I decided to explore making Artist Trading Cards (ATCs)! 🙂 What are ATCs, you ask? Here’s a short explanation courtesy of Wikipedia:

Artist trading cards (or ATCs) are miniature works of art about the same size as modern trading cards baseball cards, or 2 1⁄2 by 3 1⁄2 inches (64 mm × 89 mm), small enough to fit inside standard card-collector pockets, sleeves or sheets. The ATC movement developed out of the mail art movement and has its origins in Switzerland. Cards are produced in various media, including dry media (pencils, pens, markers, etc.), wet media (watercolor, acrylic paints, etc.), paper media (in the form of collage, papercuts, found objects, etc.) or even metals or fiber. The cards are usually traded or exchanged.

Here are some of my first few ATCs!

 aeggieATC02 aeggieATC03

Now I just wish I had more time in a day – to be able to work, sleep enough, spend time with my loved ones & friends, AND still do all of the things above that I love!! 😉

2 thoughts on “A Hobby Rampage!

Leave a Reply

