Photo Contest Wins

Photography is a casual hobby for me, so I usually just snap photos for the fun of it.

Every once in a while though, an interesting photo contest catches my eye, so I submit my photos to participate!


#1 – Nature Photo Contest by DAVIDsTEA [2012]

Last April, I received the prize for my very first (as far as I can recall) photo contest won!

It was a “Nature” photo contest run by DAVIDsTEA, and the prize was a David Suzuki graphic art “teashirt”:

dkteashirtprize dkteashirtwin

There were approximately 170+ photos submitted, and my photo was picked to be the winner:

aeggieButchart

This photo was snapped using my old Sony DSC-T7 compact camera, on my last visit to the Butchart Gardens in Victoria in Spring 2009.  No editing was done, except for cropping and the addition of an Instagram filter (X-pro II).

Thanks DAVIDsTEA for running this fun photo contest, and for the lovely prize!


#2 – BC Blossom Watch Photo Contest by TravelSmart [2013]

ts_vcbf_contest_2013

Just a few weeks ago, I submitted one of my cherry blossoms photos to TravelSmart‘s “BC Blossom Watch Photo Contest”:

IMG_20130401_191045

This photo was snapped using my Samsung Nexus S Android 5MP phone camera, just outside of the Burrard Skytrain Station in Vancouver.  Minor edits (brightness, contrast, saturation tweaks) were done with the phone’s built-in Gallery editing tools. No Instagram filters were applied.

My photo was selected as the BC Blossom Watch daily prize winner for Apr 10, 2013!

travelsmart PhotoContest win

Thanks TravelSmart for running this fun photo contest, and for the lovely prize!

2 thoughts on “Photo Contest Wins

Leave a Reply

